View Full Version : Blueblood’s Article Links—Thursday, January 15, 2009

15th January 2009, 09:19 AM
Each day we strive to find article links involving Georgia Southern athletics and former Georgia Southern athletes. Should you find we missed an article link, please reply to help keep the Eagle Faithful informed:

1. Eagles' spotlight turns to Davidson in Saturday showdown

[“Willie was having an All-Conference type season so I do feel for him. We are always concerned about the mental and physical well-being of our student-athletes. It is a tough situation for him, but knowing Willie he will work extremely hard to get back as soon as he can,” said Coach Jeff Price, “We have to find some guys willing to step up and carry the load. Some of our freshmen will have an opportunity to earn additional (playing) minutes.”]


2. Eagles hope woeful UNGC solves road problems

[Freshman Ben Drayton, who started GSU's last game against the College of Charleston, remains Powers' replacement in the Eagles' lineup as they face UNC-Greensboro today at 7 p.m. Drayton is averaging 5.9 ppg., and 16 minutes played per contest up to this point. "He's played in quite a few big games," senior forward Trumaine Pearson said of Drayton. "So, I don't see him as a freshman in a way, because of the experience he's got so far."]


3. St. Jude ad special for Singh, children

[Area residents Jeff Klauk and Aron Price will make their PGA Tour debuts this week at the Sony Open. Klauk and Price earned their Tour cards by finishing among the top 25 on the Nationwide Tour money list last year.]


4. Verot's Vogelbach will play indoor football

[Joining Vogelbach with Bloomington is linebacker John Mohring.]


5. Former Evans Star Todd Greene Joins Tampa Bay Rays Staff

["It's kind of a hybrid job from the scouting thing I did this past season with the Padres," Greene said. "Obviously, being back on the field was definitely appealing to me."]


6. Sioux Falls Coach Kalen DeBoer Honored with AFCA Coach of the Year Honors

[Mount Union is the only institution to have a representative win the AFCA National Coach of the Year Award nine times. Georgia Southern and Penn State are the only schools with five winners. Ohio State, Michigan, Alabama, Augustana (Ill.), Grand Valley State, North Dakota State and Wittenberg have had representatives win AFCA national awards four times.]