View Full Version : Swope Earns Spot on CFPA Running Back Watch List

14th May 2013, 09:08 AM
Swope Earns Spot on CFPA Running Back Watch List

CHARLOTTE, N.C. -- College Football Performance Awards (CFPA), the largest awards organization in D-I college football, recently announced its watch list for the 2013 CFPA FCS Running Back Award, and Georgia Southern running back Dominique Swope earned a spot on the list. The preliminary watch list highlights 33 returning performers, vying for the top individual running back honor in the Football Championship Subdivision.

"Congratulations to Dominique Swope on joining teammate Jerick McKinnon on the 2013 CFPA Watch List," stated Brad Smith, executive director of CFPA, the largest awards organization in D-I college football which presents 45 awards annually and honors 29 student-athletes for their accomplishments on the field each week.. "The McKinnon-Swope duo will likely pose significant challenges to opposing defenses in 2013."

Swope became the first Eagle to run for back-to-back 1,000-yard plus seasons since Jermaine Austin in his freshman and sophomore seasons (2002-03) with 1,246 and 16 touchdowns in 2012. He earned Freshman of the Year honors in 2011 following a sensational season with 1,023 yards and seven scores, including a career-best 255-yard, two-touchdown effort against Old Dominion. That was the first of his seven career multiple touchdown games.

"With continued performances at quarterback and running back, Head Coach Jeff Monken's offense will be difficult to contain in 2013," added CFPA Assistant Director Dr. Harold Smith.

Georgia Southern is one of only 15 programs with returning players on both the 2013 CFPA Quarterback Award Watch List and 2013 CFPA Running Back Award Watch List. Eagle fans will see Swope and McKinnon when the Eagles open the season at 6 p.m. on August 31st against Savannah State at Paulson Stadium.

All CFPA recipients are selected exclusively based upon objective scientific rankings of the extent to which individual players increase the overall effectiveness of their teams. All players are eligible for awards at their respective positions; players are not preemptively eliminated from consideration.

Currently, there are 111 CFPA recipients listed on official 2013 NFL rosters. More than 130 CFPA recipients have signed professional contracts, and 21 have been first-round NFL Draft selections. Current CFPA winners performing as NFL running backs include: Trent Richardson (Alabama), Montee Ball (Wisconsin), Giovani Bernard (North Carolina), Le'Veon Bell (Michigan State), LaMichael James (Oregon), C.J. Spiller (Clemson), Dexter McCluster (Ole Miss), Jahvid Best (Cal), Fozzy Whittaker (Texas), Nate Eachus (Colgate), Taiwan Jones (Eastern Washington) and Miguel Maysonet (Stony Brook).

Three Georgia Southern Eagles have earned annual CFPA honors: Adrian Mora (CFPA Placekicker Award), Laron Scott (CFPA Kickoff Returner Award), and Brent Russell (CFPA Elite Defensive Tackle Award).

Multiple award presentations were broadcast live nationally on ESPN, CBS, Fox Sports, Big Ten Network, Pac 12 Network, as well as internationally on BYUtv.

The full list of 2013 recipients, including the 2013 CFPA FCS Awards, will be announced on January 8, 2014.